Sandhill Cranes

This morning was great. I went for a walk along one of the berms that separate the wetland areas at the Celery Fields in search of a Rail (found a King Rail – will post later).  Off at a bit of a distance were two Sandhill Cranes.  As I stood quietly they moved toward me until they were about 15 feet away.  At the same time I heard the chattering call of more Sandhills flying over the main wetland section.  They came to join the two that were next to me.  Five Cranes were very close and did not seem the slightest bit concerned about me being there.  Here are just a few of the photos I got from that.

btw: if you have never been close to them I can verify that these are large birds.

P1050980

P1050979

P1050966

Leave a Reply

