avian commuters

The Celery Field nature area in Sarasota is often used by birds as a sort of “bedroom community.”  It is safe, I suppose, because of the tall weeds and the fact that there are large marshy areas surrounded by water.  Last year I would get there at sunrise and see 100+ Whistling Ducks all taking flight at the same time. The noise was impressive.

I think that this photo shows Cattle Egrets.  They were all sleeping atop a clump of vegetation and rose as a group to go somewhere else.

Which reminds me of a Heron I would see a number of years ago near Boston. I spotted  him flying overhead, going East, every morning.  When I was getting home from work he would be flying overhead again, going West.  Bird commuters.  Not something you really think about but they apparently exist.

IMG_1376

Leave a Reply

