An Alligator Friday

I’ve been seeing a young alligator at the Celery Fields wetland for a year or two. It is maybe 5 feet long and hangs out near one of the observation decks.  Here are a couple of shots I got yesterday morning:

p1030733

p1030756

Later in the morning I accompanied a few other birders on a walk around the southern section and one of them pointed out this guy.  Yikes.  I guess we have found one of the parents. It was pretty far away so it was difficult to estimate size, but compared to the Roseate Spoonbill that was off to one side I would say it was “quite big”.  I’m surprised that there aren’t more in these waters since the fish appear to be large and plentiful.

p1030787

Leave a Reply

