Cranes and I

I seem to attract Sandhill Cranes.  Two winters ago I was standing alone with my camera on a raised berm that extends out into one of the wetland areas and was joined by a small group of Cranes. They flew in and started walking around me like I was one of them. A couple weeks later a similar thing happened with two Cranes flying in to land nearby.

Several days ago I was coming back to my car along a sidewalk that is offset from the road by maybe 30 or 40 feet.  These two Sandhill Cranes were near the road, but when they saw me coming toward them they walked over to to the sidewalk to meet me.  I don’t know if they were wary of me and were being defensive, or if they were just curious.  Either way, it is odd.

P1030693.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

